All Archdiocesan, Parish, and School employees and all Volunteers who have regular contact with minors must complete the Safe Environment Protocol (paper application, Code of Conduct, Safe Environment Training and Background Check) before being employed or volunteering. The following is a summary of the steps required to be considered for employment or volunteer activities at St. Philip Neri.
To complete the Safe Environment process, the following are required:
- An interview
- Attendance of the Safe Environment training Click here for the schedule of upcoming Safe Environment Training.
- Completion of the Archdiocese of Oklahoma City application
- Three reference checks
- Reading and signing the Code of Conduct
- A background check (for 18 years old and over)
St. Philip Neri Safe Environment Coordinator:
405-737-4476 ext. 103
The Archdiocese of Oklahoma City through its programs, organizations and events, has numerous daily contacts with many children and young people. It is, therefore important that all Archdiocesan Personnel, clergy, seminarians, religious, employees and volunteers, protect the rights of children and be alert to the possibility for child abuse.
Under Oklahoma State law, all individuals MUST report an incident or suspicion of sexual abuse of a minor (person under 18 years of age) to the civil authorities. The Oklahoma Department of Human Services has established a statewide abuse reporting hotline for reporting: 1-800-522-3511. This number is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. If you feel a child is in immediate danger of harm call 911.
For the safety of children and the healing of victims, the Archdiocese of Oklahoma City provides an Abuse of Minors Pastoral Response Hotline for reporting the abuse of a minor (in the past or presently) by a member of the clergy or other church personnel: 1-405-720-9878. The Archdiocesan Victims Assistance Coordinator, a licensed professional counselor, will respond to calls to the Archdiocesan Pastoral Response Hotline.
A report to the Archdiocese does not relieve the individual of the duty to report child abuse to civil authorities as required by Oklahoma State Law. In Oklahoma, failure to report child abuse is a misdemeanor punishable in law.