Dear Families, Faculty, and Staff,

As we approach our second week of distance learning, we have modified some of our previous guidelines and instructions. Changes are highlighted in red below.  I must reiterate that we are dedicated to continuing to provide all the students in our building with learning opportunities that will help them to develop the skills they need to be successful. 

Please understand that while we continue to educate your child(ren), we are implementing instructional practices and expectations that are very different from what is experienced every day in a traditional classroom. To that end, please have patience with our faculty and staff, and know that your feedback and communication is welcome. In order for this endeavor to be successful, our teachers will be communicating clearly and consistently with students and families.  Teachers in Grades 6-8 will communicate through your child’s school email and utilize Google Classroom, Google Drive, Playposits, and Renaissance Math.  Teachers of students in preschool through 5th grade will communicate using FACTS SIS Family Portal (formerly ParentWeb).   

In Catholic schools, we believe that parents are the primary educators of their children. Parents, please support your children and enable their success by expecting them to complete their assignments. Encourage them to reach out to their teachers if they are confused about an assignment, content, or expectations by communicating with teachers. We will continue to monitor the needs of our community related to COVID-19 and will provide an updated distance learning plan as the need arises.

We are, primarily, a Catholic school, and our mission, rooted in charity, humility, and excellence, continues to be focused on producing young people who are formed in God’s love and mercy. I tell the students every day to work hard and be nice.  Now is the time for them to work harder than ever. Work hard reading every day for at least 30 minutes.  Work hard practicing math facts and committing them to memory.  Work hard on the assignments their teachers send. I often write in yearbooks to the children to play hard and work hard, but to pray harder.  This is a time in our world when we should pray hard and without ceasing.  Thank you for your patience and support.

“Fear not, I am with you; be not dismayed; I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you, and uphold you with my right hand of justice.”

Isaiah 41:10

Blessed Stanley Rother, pray for us.

St. Michael the Archangel, protect us.

St. Philip Neri, pray for us.

Sincerely,

Brenda K. Tener, M. Ed. 

Principal

Distance Learning School Schedule

The school building is closed.  School business will be conducted remotely Monday-Friday from 9 am to 2 pm by phone (405-737-4496).  The principal is also available by email (btener@spnok.org).  Please allow 24 hours for a reply (excluding weekends).

Distance Learning Teacher Schedule

Each teacher will have virtual office hours from 9 am – 10 am, 1 pm to 3 pm, and 7-8 pm.  Teachers are also available via email.  Please allow teachers 24 hours for a reply (excluding weekends).

Mrs. Cote:  dcote@spnok.org

Mrs. States: astates@spnok.org

Mrs. Allison: gallison@spnok.org

Mrs. Miller: pmiller@spnok.org

Mrs. Chong: mchong@spnok.org

Mrs. Stine:  cstine@spnok.org

Mrs. Strobel: mstrobel@spnok.org

Mrs. Burns: cburns@spnok.org

Mr. Bleecker: jbleecker@spnok.org

Ms. Arteaga: nmarteaga@spnok.org

Mrs. Herron: aherron@spnok.org

Mrs. Hawkins: shawkins@spnok.org

Mrs. Schmidlkofer:  mschmidlkofer@spnok.org

Miss Eva: earteaga@spnok.org

Mrs. McGleish:  jmcgleish@spnok.org

Mrs. Burris:  eburris@spnok.org

Student Attendance Policy

Attendance will be monitored through the student responding to a daily writing prompt. Students in Grades 6-8 grade will receive their prompt via their school email from the homeroom teacher.  Students in preschool – 5th grade will receive a prompt in FACTS LMS. Assignments will vary and be driven by the teacher but could be a simple response to a discussion board question, or could also be a quiz or an essay. What is important to note is that attendance will be taken each day.  Students need to check in each day by 9 pm in the evening.

Tips for Success

  • Identify a space in your home where your child can participate in remote classroom activities and complete schoolwork.
  • Have your device charged and ready to go every day before you begin. 
  • Create a schedule to stay on track each day. (See the sample schedule in the survey email Mrs. Tener sent on April 3.)
  • Check-in for attendance by 9 pm each day.
  • Complete assignments by 9 pm on the due date.
  • Take breaks as needed.
  • Email your teacher immediately if you are having technical issues or don’t understand something.
  • Just as when attending class on campus, students are required to follow the Family Handbook. This includes all aspects of student behavior including social media posts. Rules about academic honesty still apply. Work is to be done individually unless specified otherwise. 

Grades

Grades will be maintained through FACTS SIS in the same manner as normal. A grade will be taken once a week for religion, social studies, math, science, and English language arts.  Teachers will work carefully and creatively to create assessments that set students up for success. They are encouraged to employ flexible and creative assessments. Teachers will communicate to students what is expected for each assessment and how students are to submit their work. Please know that no student will be penalized for something that is not in their control.  Physical education, music, art, and Spanish will be addressed through enrichment activities.  If not included in the packet, the information will be coming from the teacher by email at a later time. 

Please remember that all of the faculty, staff, and administration are dedicated to the education of your child(ren).

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This